In the good old days, magic was indispensable. But now magic is fading: Drain cleaner is cheaper than a spell, and magic carpets are used for pizza delivery. Fifteen-year-old Jennifer Strange runs Kazam, an employment agency for magicians—but it’s hard to stay in business when magic is drying up. And then the visions start, predicting the death of the world’s last dragon at the hands of an unnamed Dragonslayer. If the visions are true, everything will change for Kazam—and for Jennifer.

Now available in paperback!

B U Y   T H E   B O O K

R E A D   A N   E X C E R P T

P R A I S E   F O R  The Last Dragonslayer

“Fans of Jasper Fforde’s best-selling ‘Thursday Next’ and ‘Nursery Crime’ series will be delighted that Fforde’s talent for world-building, his skewed sense of humor and his searing satire come through full force. . . . Delicious and satisfying.”
The New York Times

“Features the same delightful mix of magic and everyday absurdity that characterizes [Fforde’s] other books. . . . Readers both young and adult will get hours of pleasure visiting these Ununited Kingdoms.”
—NPR Books, online review

“Fforde's foray into children's books will delight readers who like their fantasy with a dash of silliness.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Humor abounds, but so does heart, as readers are introduced to a heroine who is practical, smart, and true.”
School Library Journal, starred review

“Fforde’s fantasy is smart, funny, and abundantly imaginative in its critique of commercial culture. Jennifer is an endless, zesty font of wit and comic analogies; the brisk, businesslike rhythm of her account deepens the comedy and gives the story irresistible momentum. Reminiscent of Pratchett in tone, this is nevertheless Fforde’s own creature entirely—and entirely satisfying.”
Horn Book

“Fantasy readers with a taste for the silly should appreciate the subverted tropes.”
Kirkus

“Thoroughly entertaining . . . readers will easily sit back and enjoy the fun.”
Booklist

“[A] humorous and heartwarming tale. . . . Greed and integrity, fate and free will battle it out, and Fforde keeps readers guessing to the final page. Readers will be eager to return to this magical world.”
Shelf Awareness for Readers, STARRED review

“Fforde’s fantasy world is vivid, exciting and unique. In Jennifer he has created a spunky heroine who is easy to root for. . . . Moral dilemmas and hilariously sarcastic humor reign supreme in Fforde’s first novel for young adults—book one in a series of three fantastical novels that promise to deliver more than just thrills.”
BookPage

“Popular adult author Fforde tries his hand at YA with smashing success. . . . The British humor will appeal to J.K. Rowling's hungry fan base. Lovable, wise Jennifer heads a well-drawn cast of characters who range from true to life to utterly ridiculous to impossibly charming.”
Romantic Times

“It isn’t everyday that you get a book about magic that also serves as a witty and astute social commentary. . . . The characters are wacky, the Quarkbeast is frighteningly adorable, and you just might learn a thing or two about what it means to be brave. Fortunately, this is just the first book in a planned trilogy, and I can only imagine what Fforde has up his sleeve for the rest.”
—TeenReads.com

“We fell in love with this novel almost instantly because of how darn funny it is! Jasper Fforde is definitely a force to be reckoned with when it comes to snarky comical writing. And his characters are half the fun!”
—Miss Literati

“It’s as witty, earnest, and intelligent as anything this author has written. It’s just shorter. And shinier. . . . The Last Dragonslayer, then, is an ideal introduction to Fforde’s fiction.”
—Tor.com

“The whole thing tumbles along with plenty of amusement and a few chase scenes. . . . A playful retelling of the dragon-vs.-knight story, filled with humor and warmth.”
—io9.com

“I judge Jasper Fforde to be a literary genius . . . . a very good read that will make you smile.”
—Curled Up with a Good Kid’s Book

“Readers yearning for more of Terry Pratchett’s brand of smart silliness need look no further than best-selling author Fforde’s first book for teens. . . . [He] never takes himself too seriously, so readers will easily sit back and enjoy the fun.”
Booklist

“YA in the tradition of Eva Ibbotson and Diana Wynne Jones . . .The Last Dragonslayer launches a new series, and does so in grand fashion.”
—Kenny Brechner, DDG Booksellers

“This book provided me with the most enjoyable reading experience I've had yet this year. . . . Funny and layered and clever and wildly inventive. It slyly lays waste to things like commercialism, merchandise endorsement, double-crossings, and other treacheries. There's no reason I can think of not to read this book."
—Emily Crowe, Odyssey Bookshop

“Jasper Fforde's imagination is a marvel, and with Jennifer Strange, he has another heroine with a lot of pluck. I can't wait for more books in the series.”
—Jason Kennedy, Boswell Book Company

“Jasper Fforde's first foray into young adult literature is a rousing success, with the same sense of twisted humor that makes his Thursday Next novels so engaging. A great read for kids and adults alike!”
—Rachel Dunham, Once Upon a Time Bookstore

“Entertaining and mystical, The Last Dragonslayer is sure to have you wishing for some magic in your life.”
—Hannah Johnson-Breimeier, Next Chapter Bookshop

N O T A B L E

Indies Choice E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor Book

A New York Times Notable Children’s Book

A Junior Library Guild Selection

No. 3 on the Fall 2012 Kids' IndieNext List

Bank Street Books Best Children's Book of the Year 2013